COAP provides a common platform for the registered candidates to make the most preferred choice for admission into an M.Tech. Programme in the participating Institutes or job offer from participating Public Sector Units (PSU's). Eight institutes (IIT Bombay, IIT Bhubaneswar, IIT Delhi, IIT Guwahati, IIT Indore, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, IIT Roorkee) joined in COAP 2017 and seventeen institutes (IISc, IIT BHU, IIT Bbs, IIT B, IIT D, IIT G, IIT H, IIT I, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, IIT K, IIT Kgp, IIT M, IIT Mandi, IIT P, IIT R, IIT Ropar, IIT Tirupati) participated in COAP 2018. In 2019, twenty one institutes and a PSU NPCIL came together and participated in COAP for filling their M.Tech. seats or job vacancies